NEW TRAILER FOR “COLLATERAL BEAUTY” HAS DROPPED

Time Warner has released the new trailer for Collateral Beauty, starting Will Smith, Helen Mirren, Naomi Harris, Edward Norton, Keira Knightley, Kate Winslet, and Michael Peña.  The movie is directed by David Frankel.

The first trailer for this movie intrigued me, It seemed very surrealistic, in that, Will Smith’s character was talking to ethereal characters such as Death, Love and Time.  Just from this I was very interested in the movie.  This second trailer however makes me worry about the movie.  If the movie goes the way I hope it does, then I think it is going to send its message in a wonderful way, telling us that there are ways to come back from one of the worst things that can happen to us.  If however the twist of the movie is what I am reading in this trailer, it is going to be disappointing, unless of course it is handled the right way,  but to me it is going to feel cheap.

How is the trailer telling me it will end? (some people consider this speculations as spoilers so if this is the case please skip this paragraph) I think that at the end it is going to be revealed that his friends hired these three actors to play the personalities of Death, Love and Time, to convince Smith’s character that he can come out of it.  That to me would be very disappointing. I would rather, even if they are just in his imagination, see these beings as the actual representations of these ethereal concepts that help him heal.

Here is the Official Synopsis of the movie:

“Retreating from life after a tragedy, a man questions the universe by writing to Love, Time and Death. Receiving unexpected answers, he begins to see how these things interlock and how even loss can reveal moments of meaning and beauty.”

Collateral Beauty opens in theaters December 16.

Have you seen the trailer? Let me know what your thoughts are on it in  the comments below.

I’ll see you between the frames.

Leave a Reply

